Dr. John Smarrelli Jr., president of CBU, and Rev. James Boyd, president of BRIDGES, met recently to mark the new partnership between CBU and the Bridge Builders Junior Conference. CBU now hosts the Junior Conferences and offers Dual Enrollment credit for Bridge Builders who complete 100% of their program requirements. The Bridge Builders annual summer camp was held at CBU for the first time this summer, and they will be holding monthly meetings and educational sessions on our campus, for which additional college credit may be achieved.


The Inauguration of Dr. John Smarrelli Jr. as 22nd President of Christian Brothers University has been scheduled for Sunday, October 11, at St. Peter Catholic Church (190 Adams Avenue). A reception will follow the ceremony on campus in Boshwit Courtyard. For a full schedule of Inauguration Week events, please click here.


• Buccaneer cross-country runner Stephen Hill (Chemical Engineering '09) has been awarded the Commissioner's Trophy, the highest award for a Gulf South Conference (GSC) student-athlete, recognizing excellence on the field, in the classroom, and in the community. He excelled in all three phases during his career at CBU, leading the University to its four highest finishes in the GSC and South Regional Championships. He won four races, including three as a senior, and he led CBU to two race crowns as a senior. Hill graduated in May with a 3.85 GPA as he earned his bachelor’s degree in biochemical engineering, with a minor in chemistry. He won the Chemical/Biochemical Engineering Award and the Outstanding School of Engineering Graduate award. He was a unanimous choice for Academic All-GSC as a senior, his third straight year winning the award. He was also a three-time USTFCCCA All-Academic Team member. More>>>
Dr. Emily Holmes (Religion & Philosophy) organized and led the conference "Incarnating Words: Women, Writing, Theology in Atlanta, May 19-21. The conference was supported by a grant Dr. Holmes received from the Louisville Institute. As an American Academy of Religion/Luce Foundation Fellow, Dr. Holmes also attended the AAR/Luce Summer Seminar on Theologies of Religious Pluralism and Comparative Theology fin New York, June 7-14.
Andrew Prislovsky (Advancement) was nominated and confirmed as Secretary for the Executive Board of the Tennessee Advancement Resource Council at their 38th Annual Meeting in Nashville, July 16-17.
Brother Kevin Ryan (Physics/Astronomy) visited London and the Greenwich Observatory in June to observe the 400th anniversary of the invention of the telescope.
• CBU Vice Presidents Dr. Frank Buscher (Academics) and Dr. Mike Ryan (Advancement) helped raise $18,000 for Youth Villages by participating in the grueling Ultimate 5K & 10K in Davies Plantation on June 24. Dr. Buscher also helped raise funds for St. Jude by running the Firecracker 5K on the eve of Independence Day in a patriotically respectable sub-20 time.
Dr. Tracie Burke (Behavioral Science) and Dr. Dale Bails (Economics) conducted a workshop for Memphis City School teachers in Financial Literacy, June 29-July 1. This workshop was sponsored by CBU, Memphis City Schools, Barret School of Banking, and the FDIC.

Samantha Marie Almanza and Burton Benjamin Bridges were awarded the Brother I. Leo Outstanding Student Leadership Award. This award is presented annually by the Student Affairs Division, in memory of Brother I. Leo O’Donnell, to the outstanding graduating seniors who have provided distinguished student leadership to the student body, to the Student Affairs Division, and to the University community.
Boris Hugo de Souza was awarded the Thomas Lipsmeyer Award, which is presented to the graduate considered by fellow classmates as the "ideal senior student” and as being the student who has most actively contributed to the senior class and to the University.
Gregory O'Neal Davis and Amanda Nicole Pitt were awarded the Christian Brothers University Alumni Award, which is presented to the undergraduate student(s) who have the highest GPA. This year CBU had two students who maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA during their entire undergraduate careers.

The following awards were presented by the individual schools of the University:

Jessica Shevonne Henderson, Kenneth W. Mathis Award for Outstanding Education Graduate
William Reece Daughtery, Literature and Languages Faculty Award for English Major
Amanda Nicole Pitt, Outstanding History Student Award
Russell Davis Brandon, Margarette J. Sather Outstanding School of Arts Graduate Award, Behavioral Sciences Faculty Award, and the Psi Chi Outstanding Leadership Award
Margaret Denise Walker, Christine Ladd Franklin Award for Outstanding Non-traditional Psychology Major

Emily Brecken Ellis, Memphis Chapter of the Tennessee Society of Certified Public Accountants Award
Gregory O'Neal Davis, Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key
Hayley Rebecca Gil, Wall Street Journal Award
Burton Benjamin Bridges, Wall Street Journal Award
Lisa Arnette Dailey, School of Business Faculty Achievement Award
Linda Gaye Sunshine Johnson, School of Business Faculty Achievement Award

Amanda Jo Taylor, T. Herbert Darnell Award
Laura Velasco, Phillip M. Becker Award in Chemical Engineering
Thomas O. O'Bryant, Tommy G. Morrison Award
Andrew Kary Mehdi Assadollahi, Outstanding Civil and Environmental Engineering Graduate Award
Nicholas Wayne Brown, Brother Philip Morgan Electrical Engineering Design Award
Stephen Harmon Hill, Outstanding School of Engineering Graduate Award

Edward Justin Derrick, Outstanding Chemistry Graduate Award
Daniel Gene Darnell, Brother Dominic Dunn Award
John Daniel Legge, Brother Dominic Dunn Award
Tuyetdung Ngoc Tran, Brother Dominic Dunn Award
Kelly Jane Towns, Biology Faculty Award

Congratulations to Karen Conway Barnett (Dean of Students) and Wiley Barnett on their recent marriage. Pictured above with the happy bride and groom are Derrick Thigpen, Tela McEwen Thigpen (Associate Director of Admissions), Kevin Reed, Eboyne Bowie Reed (Director of Residence Life), Bridgett Brown, and Mario Brown (Director of Student Activities).


The Office of Student Life is currently finalizing the Fall 2009 Student Calendar. Any departmental dates that involve student activities should be submitted by July 24 to wphillip@cbu.edu.