Brenner, CBU Director, nominated for Jefferson Award

Henry BrennerMemphis – Christian Brothers University (CBU) graduate and Director of Corporate and Community Relations, Henry Brenner, has been nominated for the Commercial Appeal’s 2008 Jefferson Award which is presented in recognition for community service.

When Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, former Senator Robert Taft, Jr. and Sam Beard founded the American Institute for Public Service in 1972, the goal was to create a “Nobel Prize” for outstanding community and public service – The Jefferson Awards. Awards are presented on two levels – local and national. On the local level, Jefferson Awards recipients are ordinary people who do extraordinary things without expectation of recognition or reward. By last count, the Jefferson Awards had 147 Media Partners in 93 communities, setting an all-time record. The Jefferson Awards is the nation’s largest media partnership highlighting service to America.

Brenner graduated from Christian Brothers University in 1968 and came to CBU as Director of Corporate and Community Relations from Heritage Capital Advisors, an investment firm that he founded in 2001. Prior to that, he founded Brenner Steed, one of the nation’s first discount brokerage firms, and the National Committee of Discount Securities Brokers, a Washington-based trade organization.

Brenner has since served in several leadership positions with the University, including service on the Board of Trustees and the Dean’s Advisory Board for the School of Business. He is a former president of the CBU National Alumni Association, received the Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1985, and was honored by School of Business with its Community Service Award in 2006. His community involvement also includes service on the boards of Ave Maria Home, The Mid-South Fair, 100 Club of Memphis, the Fire Museum of Memphis and the Memphis Development Foundation.  

The local winners of the 2008 Jefferson Awards will be announced on Tuesday, April 1 at the Peabody Hotel, Continental Ballroom.    ###

This entry was posted in Faculty & Staff, Press Releases.

Comments are closed.