News of the Moment

MHIRT group for summer 2013

MHIRT group for summer 2013 at its weekend retreat on February 23-24.

Dr. John Smarrelli Jr., CBU president, recently made an action-packed trip to Washington, DC, where he attended a meeting of Lasallian university presidents as well as a meeting of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities (ACCU). At the ACCU meeting, he also presented a poster authored by Dr. Malinda E.C. Fitzgerald, Professor of Biology and Director of the Minority Health International Research Training (MHIRT) program, and Ms. Julia Hanebrink, MHIRT Program Coordinator, on the MHIRT program at the meeting entitled “There’s an App for That: Utilizing Technology to Foster International Research Opportunities for Undergraduates.”

Dr. Malinda E.C. Fitzgerald, Professor of Biology, was a featured speaker at the 11th Scientific meeting of the Associate for Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics in Alicante, Spain, on February 7-10  where she presented a paper entitled “The role of serotonergic neurons of the paramedian raphe in regulating choroidal blood flow in rats.”  Her co-authors were Nobel Del Mar, Chuyan Li and Anton Reiner.  She helped organize and moderate the session with Dr. Jeff Kiel.  At the meeting she was elected to the Board of Trustees for the organization (

Beta Beta Beta Induction

Beta Beta Beta Induction

The Mu Tau chapter of Beta Beta Beta biological honor society held inductions for new members on Wednesday, February 20. The ceremony included a presentation by our very own Dr. James Moore, Assistant Professor of Biology, who gave a talk about the “Causes & Consequences of Channel Modification: Examining the Alteration of Ecological Patterns in Western Tennessee.” Tri Beta would like to congratulate the following students who were inducted as Associate Members for the year of 2013: Emi Abutineh, Cale Alexander, Tachele Anderson, Joanna Arnett, Matthew Brint, Rachel Depperschmidt, Majdi Elias, Alma Godoy, Patrick Held, Shannon Joyce, Tierney Kizer, Sarah Langsdon, Shelby Malcolm, Alex McCormick, Brent McGlaughlin, Megan Mosier, Toni Patrick, Gabriela Quiroz, Mehak Rajani, Tiffany Rice, Katherine Robinson, Marie Ryall, Matthew Skelton, Bailey Smith, Whitney Stepter, Hema Sura, Ben Tansey, Colt Terhune, Camisha Terrell, Ryan Tomlinson, Nhu-Phuong Vo, Will Walsh, Kevin Young and Anqi Zheng. Tri Beta would also like to congratulate those who were inducted as Full Members: Stephanie Allen, Alex Bickenbach, Darianne Butler, Lauren D’Surney, Jessica Jameson, Hannah Kurtz, Shannon McDonald, Erika Olvera, Charlene Ann Patino, Matthew Pointer, Don Rautine, JD Wolfe and Erika Yates.

The Science Olympiad for West Tennessee was held at CBU on Saturday, Feb. 23. The event table for this year can be found here. The Director for the CBU site is Dr. Andrew Diener, Assistant Professor of Mathematics.  Several CBU faculty members and members of the four Student Groups in the School of Sciences helped out as Event Directors.  We had four teams at the high school competition for a total of 60 students, and we had two teams at the middle school competition for a total of 30 students.   The winning teams were from White Station, both for high school and for middle school.  In addition, we had numerous family members visiting campus, taking the campus tour put on by Admissions, and generally enjoying the atmosphere that is the CBU campus.

On the weekend of February 23-24, MHIRT held its retreat at the Heifer Ranch.  See the image above.

Kevin Pham and Kristin Davis displaying their poster at the BIOL 362 Junior Seminar poster session.

Kevin Pham and Kristin Davis displaying their poster at the BIOL 362 Junior Seminar poster session.

On Tuesday, February 26, BIOL 362 Junior Seminar held its poster session.

Spring Break was March 3 through 9.

On Thursday, March 14, the Christian Brothers University Student Members of the American Chemical Society (CBU SMACS) held its third Spring Meeting.  They discussed plans for the Science Fair and High School Chemistry Competitions, and there was a Special Presentation by Dominique Garcia-Robles, Chemistry 2011, and Kay Powell on Optometry School and the Student Volunteers for Optometric Service to Humanity.

Pi Day

Pi Day

On Thursday, March 14, the Student Section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) celebrated Pi Day (3.14) with pies and with pi tatoos (non-permanent).

Dr. James Moore, Assistant Professor of Biology, has been elected as Secretary/Treasurer for the International Association of Vegetation Science (IAVS).  Congratulations!

Cameron Volpe, Biology 2013, has been accepted to the Mississippi State School of Veterinary Medicine.  Congratulations!