AddThis Social Bookmark Button
Sustainability community clean up


According to the Environmental Protection Agency, sustainability is based on a simple principle: Everything that we need for our survival and well-being depends either directly or indirectly on our natural environment. Sustainability creates and maintains conditions under which humans and nature can coexist and fulfill the social, economic and other requirements of present and future generations.


As a Catholic Lasallian institution, CBU is dedicated to environmental stewardship as an integral part of service to the poor and the promotion of social justice. The well-being of God’s all-encompassing creation – the world and all of its inhabitants – is of great concern, especially as indicators of ecological turmoil and climate change are brought to light. CBU values and promotes inquiry into, action for and education about sustainable living in all areas of university life and operation.

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee of CBU is a presidential committee created in 2010 to recommend, support and advocate strongly for environmentally sound practices at CBU. These practices are comprehensive, incorporating both the academic and physical components of the university. The Sustainability Committee is thereby responsible for promoting environmental awareness and responsibility to the entire CBU community both in curriculum design and in the use of campus resources and facilities.

Student Sustainability Coalition

The Student Sustainability Coalition is an officially recognized student club through the Student Government Association. Formed in 2012 by a group of like-minded students, the coalition is committed to collaborating with various university committees, student groups and local institutions to establish community service projects that promote sustainable practices. Students have volunteered to organize events during America Recycles Day and Earth Week, including:

For membership contact Michael MacMiller, Student Sustainability Coalition President: