Enter your search term & enter. Esc or X to close.


Category: Awards

Vanderhaar Symposium Recognizes Aylen Mercado with Student Peace Award

Zane Turner (’20) also to be recognized as award finalist The Gerard A. Vanderhaar Symposium at Christian Brothers University (CBU) is pleased to announce the recipient of its annual Gerard A. Vanderhaar Student Peace Award. This award honors the Mid-South area college student who best exemplifies the spirit and practice of active nonviolence consistent with Dr. Vanderhaar’s life and work and has been involved in peace and justice work in our community. This year’s... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Thursday, April 4, 2019

CBU President Named “Outstanding Executive Leader” by Memphis Fundraising Professionals

MEMPHIS — Dr. John Smarrelli Jr., president of Christian Brothers University (CBU), will be honored as the “Outstanding Executive Leader” by the  Association of Fundraising Professionals  (Memphis Chapter)  at its annual  National Philanthropy Day Crystal Awards  on November 13 at the Holiday Inn-University of Memphis. The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) is the professional association of individuals... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Wednesday, September 26, 2018

CBU to Celebrate Change, Vision, and Honorees at 2016 Bell Tower Gala

MEMPHIS — This week, Christian Brothers University (CBU)  announced the honorees and details for its 2016 Bell Tower Gala. The fifth annual Bell Tower Gala will be held on November 12 in the Tennessee Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Memphis at 6:00 p.m. This year’s gala is generously presented by FedEx Corporation . During the evening’s program, guests will get the opportunity to relive the history of Lasallian education in Memphis, and ‘break ground’ for a... Read More
Posted by Joshua Colfer at Thursday, September 29, 2016

CBU Lasallian Fellows Class of 2017 Inducted

MEMPHIS — Christian Brothers University (CBU) conferred its 2017 CBU Lasallian Fellows during Academic Convocation on August 25 th . Raymond (Trey) McGinnis, Taylor Flake, RaKesha Gray, Lauren Jeu, and John Buttross were officially inducted as the CBU Lasallian Fellows Class of 2017 , which is considered the highest student honor granted by the Catholic university, which was founded by the De La Salle Christian Brothers . CBU Lasallian Fellowships are presented annually to... Read More
Posted by Joshua Colfer at Thursday, August 25, 2016

Commencement Honors Class of 2016

MEMPHIS — On May 14, hundreds of graduates, faculty, staff, and guests gathered on Signaigo Field under sunny skies to participate in the 2016 Commencement ceremony at Christian Brothers University. Throughout the two-hour ceremony, 381 of this year’s 456 graduates received diplomas for their completion of undergraduate, graduate, and certifications. Of the 381 graduates who participated, 47 received awards in their various schools and societies.    Dr. John Smarrelli,... Read More
Posted by Joshua Colfer at Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Bell Tower Gala

Fourth Annual Charitable Event to Honor Daush, Dunavant, Perry MEMPHIS — Christian Brothers University will hold its fourth annual Bell Tower Gala on Saturday, November 14 at the Hilton Memphis Tennessee Grand Ballroom at 6:00 p.m. This year's Gala is generously presented by FedEx Corporation . This unforgettable evening will be a festive charitable event, a tribute to the history of Lasallian education in Memphis, and a great way to reconnect with old friends. And since all... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Sunday, November 8, 2015

Nienaber Inducted to Cincinnati Basketball Hall of Fame

CINCINNATI — Christian Brothers University men's basketball coach Mike Nienaber was inducted into the Greater Cincinnati Basketball Hall of Fame on May 13 at Receptions Banquet Center in Fairfield, OH. While Nienaber played high school basketball at La Salle High School in Cincinnati, he has spent his entire 32-year college coaching career in west Tennessee, 16 years at Bethel College in McKenzie and 16 years at CBU. "It's a great honor. I was shocked when they contacted me," said... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Thursday, May 14, 2015

CBU Awards Top Scholarships for Incoming Freshman Class

MEMPHIS — Christian Brothers University (CBU) has announced the 2015 recipients of the Trustee Scholarship and  Leadership Scholarship , the most prestigious financial aid awards granted by the university awarded annually to members of its incoming freshman class. Both scholarships require extensive applications and a day of interviews and other activities on campus. “The scholarship awardees are selected by committee review following the on-campus scholarship event days,” said Kristi... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Thursday, March 12, 2015

CBU Athletic Hall of Fame Banquet Postponed

MEMPHIS — Due to this week's wintry weather, with more frozen precipitation in the forecast for later this week, Friday night's Christian Brothers University Athletic Hall of Fame banquet has been postponed to Saturday, April 11 . Tickets for the banquet are still available. Tickets are $45 each, and a table of eight is $360. Click here for more information on the event. For more information on the banquet, please contact Brian Summers at (901) 321-3370 or . ... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Thursday, February 19, 2015

CBU Honored with NCAA Academic Excellence Award

Christian Brothers University, after posting a successful Academic Success Rate, will be honored with an Academic Excellence Award by the NCAA. As part of the Division II Presidents' Award for Academic Excellence program, now in it's fourth year, CBU will be honored after seeing a graduation success rate of 90 percent among its student-athletes. CBU earned this accolade alongside 20+ additional Division II institutions for achieving four-year ASRs of 90 percent or higher. "This year's... Read More
Posted by Cory Dugan at Friday, January 16, 2015