Enter your search term & enter. Esc or X to close.


CBU Announces 2014 Athletic Hall Of Fame Class

MEMPHIS – The CBU Athletic Hall of Fame has announced its Class of 2014. This year’s class features eight inductees, and two teams will be recognized with the inaugural Team of Distinction award. The class will be inducted at the Hall of Fame Banquet Saturday night, April 12, at 6:00 p.m. in Alfonso Dining Hall. Tickets are $40 each, and a table of eight is $320.

Mike Bennett starred in baseball from 1984 to 1987. On the mound, he went 21-13 with a 3.99 ERA over 255.0 innings pitched. His five career saves rank third in school history, and his 21 career wins are fourth in school history. He also ranks fourth with 16 complete games. As a junior, he went 9-3, setting a school record for wins in a season, and his nine complete games are second-most in a season. He also hit .311 with 46 runs and 29 RBI in 193 career at-bats as a hitter.

Kenneth Blake starred in basketball from 1993 to 1997. He scored 1,668 points with 622 rebounds, 194 blocked shots and 107 steals over 99 career games. He holds CBU’s career records for blocks and blocks per game, and he is fifth in points per game and eighth in career points. His career .593 field goal percentage is also third in CBU history. His 72 blocks as a sophomore are still CBU’s single-season record.

Wayne Clayborne starred in basketball from 1956 to 1961. He scored 1,045 points over 105 career games. While the rest of his statistics are incomplete, his 322 rebounds as a junior, and his 11.9 rebounds per game that year, still rank sixth in school history.

Missy Gregg completely rewrote the NCAA soccer record books in 2001 and 2002, setting NCAA career records that haven’t been touched by players who have played four years. Gregg scored an NCAA all-division record 135 goals and 287 points in 47 games, leading CBU to the NCAA finals twice and the national championship once. Her 73-goal junior season is an NCAA all-division record, and her 62-goal senior season is second. She also holds the top two seasons in NCAA history in points. In all, she set eight Division II records and eight NCAA all-division records. She won the Honda Award as the Division II Woman Athlete of the Year.

Dave Loos coached the CBU basketball and baseball teams for four years each. He coached the CBU baseball team from 1971 to 1974, and he was men’s basketball coach from 1982 to 1986. On the hardwood, he led CBU to four straight winning seasons, including the 1985 VSAC Championship, when CBU went 25-10. 25 wins are still tied for the most in a season in school history, and the conference championship was the program’s first. He had three straight 20-win seasons, compiling an 82-53 record overall in four years. On the diamond, he went 81-78 in four years, leading CBU to its only VSAC championship in 1973.

Andres Martinez Gonzalez starred in baseball and soccer from 1987 to 1989. On the pitch, he scored 59 goals with 29 assists for 147 career points. He ranks third in school history in goals and points. On the baseball field, he hit .303 with seven homers, 78 RBI and 89 runs scored in 116 career games. He also stole 33 bases, good for 12th in school history.

Margaret Saurin starred in soccer from 2001 to 2002. She scored 47 goals with 64 assists for 158 career points. She set an NCAA all-division record with 1.36 assists per game for her career. Her 35 assists as a senior also broke the NCAA Division II record, and her 29 assists as a junior rank second. She also ranks second in school history in goals and points. She led CBU to back-to-back NCAA finals, including the 2002 national championship.

Inez Scruggs was one of the biggest supporters of CBU athletics as one of the key people who made games possible. She spent decades as the scorekeeper for CBU’s home basketball games.

In addition to the eight inductees, CBU will recognize its first two Teams of Distinction. The 2001 women’s soccer team went 22-1 and reached the national championship game before losing to UC San Diego. The 2002 Lady Buc soccer team went 25-1 and won the only national championship in CBU history. Members of both teams have been invited to the Hall of Fame Banquet, where they will be recognized.

For more information on the banquet, please contact Donna Crone at (901) 321-3478 An online registration form will be available soon. Until it is ready, those interested in attending may complete the printable registration form.

Posted by Devon Wade at 3:31 PM