Faculty & Staff

School ofSciences

Sciences Faculty & Staff

Administration 

Dr. James McGuffeeDr. James W. McGuffee, Dean, Professor of Computer Science
B.S., Louisiana Tech University; Ph.D., Louisiana State University 

Phone: (901) 321-3482;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 103
Email: jmcguff1@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/jmcguff1/ 
Spotlight page

Paula Beecham, Administrative Assistant (Dean's Suite)
Phone: (901) 321-3445;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 102
Email: pbeecham@cbu.edu 

 

Carey Elder, Administrative Assistant (Physician Assistant Studies) 
Phone: (901) 321-3388; Office: Barry Hall 237
Email: ccarter9@cbu.edu

Sonya Mills, Administrative Assistant, Recruiter, and Advisor (RN-to-BSN Nursing Program) 
Phone: (901) 321-3374; Office: Buckman Hall 328
Email: Sonya.Mills@cbu.edu

Lucille Starks, B.S., A.S., Clinical Data Manager (Physician Assistant Studies)
Phone: (901) 321-3868; Office: Barry Hall 240
Email: lstarks1@cbu.edu

Biology

Dr. Sandra L. Thompson-Jaeger, Chair, Associate Professor
B.S. Ouachita Baptist University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Munich (Germany)
Phone: (901) 321-3453;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 114 
Email: sthompso@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/sthompso/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Stanley Eisen, Director Pre-Professional Health Programs, Professor
B.S., State University of New York at Stony Brook; M.A., Ph.D., Indiana University
Phone: (901) 321-3447;  Office: Assisi Hall 112 
Email: seisen@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/seisen/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Malinda E. Fitzgerald, Director of the MHIRT Program, Professor 
B.S., M.S., University of Memphis; Ph.D., University of Tennessee, Memphis
Phone: (901) 321-3262;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 112 
Email: malinda@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/malinda/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Julia Hanebrink, Program Coordinator MHIRT
Phone: (901) 321-3459; Office: Assisi Hall 106
Email: jhanebri@cbu.edu 

Lynda Miller, Science Lab Coordinator 
B.A., Southern Illinois University, M.S., Memphis State University
Phone: (901) 321-3090;  Office: Assisi Hall 113 
Email: lmiller@cbu.edu 
Spotlight page

Dr. James E. Moore, Associate Professor
B.S., West Virginia State College; M.S., University of North Carolina Greensboro; Ph.D. University of Memphis
Phone: (901) 321-3451;  Office: Assisi Hall 110 
Email: jmoore25@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/jmoore25/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Mary L. Ogilvie, Professor
B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Memphis State University
Phone: (901) 321-3437;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 113 
Email: mogilvie@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/mogilvie/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Anna E. Ross, Professor
A.B., Hope College; Ph.D., Clemson University
Phone: (901) 321-3436;  Office: Assisi Hall 111 
Email: aross@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/aross/ 
Spotlight page

Brother Edward Salgado, Adjunct Professor, Professor Emeritus
Phone: (901) 321-3450;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 215 
Email: esalgado@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/~esalgado 

Dr. Kathleen R. Sauser, Associate Professor
B.S., University of Tennessee at Martin; M.S., Florida Institute of Technology; Ph.D., Memphis State University
Phone: (901) 321-3463;  Office: Assisi Hall 108 
Email: ksauser@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/ksauser/ 
Spotlight page

Brother Tom Sullivan, Adjunct Assistant Professor
B.S., M.S., St. Mary’s University of Minnesota; Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Phone: (901) 321-3477;   
Email: tsulliv1@cbu.edu 

Chemistry 

Dr. Dennis L. Merat, Chair, Associate Professor
B.S., Southern Methodist University; Ph.D. Texas A & M University
Phone: (901) 321-4201;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 213 
Email: dmerat@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/dmerat/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. David P. Dawson, Associate Professor
B.S., Rhodes College; Ph.D. University of Arkansas
Phone: (901) 321-3464;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 216 
Email: ddawson@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/ddawson/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. William J. Peer, Associate Professor
B.S. University of Michigan; Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
Phone: (901) 321-3435;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 218 
Email: wpeer@cbu.edu 
Spotlight page

Dr. Anthony R. Trimboli, Associate Professor
B.S., Muhlenberg College; Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Phone: (901) 321-3449;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 217 
Email: atrimbol@cbu.edu 
Spotlight page

Dr. John Keith Young, Associate Professor
B.A. Hendrix College; Ph.D. Mississippi State University
Phone: (901) 321-3434;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 214 
Email: jyoung7@cbu.edu 
Spotlight page

Mathematics & Computer Science 

Cathy W. Grilli, Co-Chair, Director of Pascal Fellows, Professor
B.A., M.A., University of Mississippi
Phone: (901) 321-3456;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 301 
Email: cgrilli@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/cgrilli/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Pascal Bedrossian, Co-Chair, Professor
B.S., Christian Brothers University; M.S., Ph.D., Memphis State University
Phone: (901) 321-3441;  Office:  Cooper-Wilson 305 
Email: pbedross@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/pbedross/ 
Spotlight page

Brother Joel B. Baumeyer, Director of Math CenterProfessor Emeritus
B.A., M.Ed., St. Mary’s College; M.A., Ph.D., St. Louis University
Phone: (901) 321-3442;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 323 
Email: baumeyer@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/baumeyer/ 
Spotlight page

Sandra Davis, Instructor
B.A., Cameron University; M.S., Memphis State University
Phone: (901) 321-4113;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 316 
Email: sadavis@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/sadavis/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Andrew M. Diener, Assistant Professor
B.A., St. Mary’s University (San Antonio, TX); M.S., Ph.D., Texas A&M University
Phone: (901) 321-3452;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 312 
Email: adiener@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/adiener/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Raena King, Assistant Professor
B.S., Lambuth University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Memphis
Phone: (901) 321-3443;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 315 
Email: rking2@cbu.edu 
Spotlight page

Dr. Holmes Peacher-Ryan, Associate Professor
A.B., Princeton University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Memphis
Phone: (901) 321-3457;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 313 
Email: hpeacher@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/hpeacher/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Serge Salan, Assistant Professor
B.S., M.S., Universite' Saint Joseph, Lebanon; M.S., Ph.D., University of Memphis
Phone:  (901) 321-3476;  Office:  Cooper-Wilson 305
Email:  ssalan@cbu.edu

Brother Walter Schreiner, Faculty Athletics Representative, Associate Professor
B.A., University of St. Thomas; M.S., University of Notre Dame; Ph.D., University of Illinois
Phone: (901) 321-3754;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 317 
Email: wschrein@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/wschrein/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Jing Wang, Assistant Professor
B.S. University of Science and Technology of China; M.A., Ph.D., The George Washington University
Phone: (901) 321-3415;  Office:  Cooper-Wilson 314
Email:  jwang@cbu.edu
Spotlight page

Dr. Arthur Yanushka, Professor
B.A., Fordham University; M.S., State University of New York at Stony Brook; Ph.D., University of Illinois
Phone: (901) 321-3454;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 300 
Email: yanushka@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/yanushka/ 
Spotlight page

Physician Assistant Studies 

Teresa Preston, MBA, MSPS, PA-C, Director of Physician Assistant Studies 
Phone: (901) 321-4126; Office: Barry Hall 244
Email: tpreston@cbu.edu

Gary B. Tooley, MHSc, PA-C, DFAAPA, Director of Academic Studies, Associate Professor
AS in Physician Assistant Studies, Santa Fe Community College/University of Florida; BHSc, University of North Florida; MHSc University of North Florida
Phone: (901) 321-4122; Office: Barry Hall 242
Email: gtooley@cbu.edu

Tony Schnuerer, BA, PA-C, Director of Clinical Education, Instructor
Primary Care PA, Cleveland Clinic Educational Foundation; AS in Physician Clinical Assisting, Cuyahoga Community College; BA, Cleveland State University
Phone: (901) 321-3253; Office: Barry Hall 247
Email: aschnuerer@cbu.edu

Cheryl Scott, MPA, RN, BSN, CNL, Director of Clinical Simulation
BSN, University of Akron; MPA, University of Memphis
Phone: (901) 321-3998; Office: Rozier 187
Email: cscott7@cbu.edu

Cherese W. Tooley, M.D., Medical Director, Associate Professor 
BS, Milsaps College; MD, University of Mississippi College of Medicine; American Board of Internal Medicine Certified
Phone: (901) 321-4128; Office: Barry Hall 243
Email: ctooley1@cbu.edu

Robert Booth, BS, MSPAS, EMPA-C, Adjunct Faculty, Instructor
BS, University of Mississippi; MSPA, University of New England; PA-EMR, University of Texas Health Sciences Center
Email: rbooth@cbu.edu

Ingrid Cantrell, BS, MSPA, PA, Adjunct Faculty, Instructor
BS, Florida State University; MPH, University of South Florida; MSPA, Trevecca Nazarene University
Email: icantrel@cbu.edu 

Tasha Sabino, BA, MPAS, PA-C, Adjunct Faculty, Instructor
BA with Distinction, North Carolina-Chapel Hill; Class B Teaching Certificate, University of Alabama – Birmingham; MPAS, University of Utah
Email: tsabino@cbu.edu

Physics & Natural Science 

Dr. John A. Varriano, Chair, Professor
holder of the John J. Shea Chair in Science and Mathematics  
B.S., University of Pittsburgh; Ph.D., University of Rochester
Phone: (901) 321-3439;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 116 
Email: jvarrian@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/jvarrian/

Spotlight page

Dr. Ted Clarke, Assistant Professor
B.S., M.S., Ph.D., University of Memphis
Phone: (901) 321-3462;  Office: Cooper-Wilson 116 
Email: tclarke2@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/tclarke2/ 
Spotlight page

Dr. Johnny B. Holmes, Professor
B.S., Rockhurst College; M.S., Ph.D., University of Miami
Phone: (901) 321-3448;  Office: Assisi Hall 004 
Email: jholmes@cbu.edu • Website: http://facstaff.cbu.edu/jholmes/ 
Spotlight page

Brother Kevin Ryan, Adjunct Assistant Professor
B.S., M.Ed., St. Mary’s College   
Email: kryan@cbu.edu 
Spotlight page

RN-to-BSN Nursing 

Dr. Sue Lehman-Trzynka, Director, Associate Professor
B.S.N., M.S.N., Northern Illinois University; Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, Faith Community Nurse
Phone: (901) 321-3465; Office: Buckman Hall 331
Email: etrzynka@cbu.edu

Cecilia Garrison, Assistant Director,​ Instructor
B.S.N., University of Maryland; M.S., University of Hawaii
Phone: (901) 321-3564; Office: Buckman Hall 330
Email: cgarris1@cbu.edu

Dr. Marie Bredy, Instructor
B.S.N., University of Memphis; M.S.N, University of Memphis; D.N.P, Saint Louis University
Phone: (901) 321-3339;
Email: mbredy@cbu.edu