Board of Trustees at CBU | Christian Brothers University

Enter your search term & enter. Esc or X to close.

Board of Trustees

The members of the Board of Trustees constitute the legal Directors of Christian Brothers University with general responsibility for management of the University in keeping with its philosophy and purposes. The Board sustains the mission of the University within the traditions of the Christian Brothers, selects the President, approves the budget and the educational program, confers honorary degrees, assists in fund-raising, and acts as a court of final appeal.

History of the Board

Until the 1966 academic year, the Board of Trustees consisted of representatives from the Brother's Community, the Bishop of Nashville, with the St. Louis Provincial serving as the Chairman. The 1970-71 academic year was a period of transition for the Board of Trustees. For the first time, laymen were appointed to the Board of Trustees while others continued to serve on the Board of Regents. In different years, the board names varied from the "Board of Directors" (1947-1949) to the "Board of Trustees" (1949-1967) and back to the "Board of Directors" (1967-1970) to the current title of "Board of Trustees" (1970-present).

In the years from 1947-1971, the Board of Directors/Board of Trustees were supplemented with boards of various titles — the Advisory Board or the Board of Regents. The present system, with only a Board of Trustees, began in 1972. See all the past Board Chairs here.


  • STEPHEN T. DUNAVANT (’83), Chair
  • LOUIS F. (BO) ALLEN JR. ('95), Vice Chair
  • EMILY SAWYER GREER (’84), Secretary

  • JAMES L. REBER (’82), Treasurer
  • DR. JOHN SMARRELLI JR., President of the University


  • Louis F. (Bo) Allen Jr. (’95)
  • Robert H. Buckman
  • Brother Francis Carr, FSC
  • Judge J. R. (Bobby) Carter ('77)
  • James C. Collins Jr. ('84)
  • David Cunningham Jr. 
  • Leslie L. Daniel (’90)
  • Tyree Daniels ('01)
  • Stephen T. Dunavant (’83)
  • Brother Chris Englert, FSC (’77)
  • Richard Erickson ('90)
  • Andre K. Fowlkes
  • John Mitchell Graves (’83)
  • Emily Sawyer Greer (’84)
  • Russell J. Hensley
  • Dr. Margaret Hodges
  • James J. Isaacs
  • Michael E. Keeney
  • John R. Lammers
  • Maria Lensing (’01, ’07)
  • James Maclin Jr. (’96)
  • Douglas J. Marchant
  • Fr. Robert W. Marshall Jr. ('80)
  • Harold G. McNeil (’79)
  • Rev. Keith Norman
  • Lynnefer Perry ('98)
  • Paul Posey Jr. ('89, MBA '08)
  • Brother Michael F. Quirk, FSC
  • James L. Reber (’82) 
  • Cathy Ross (’78)
  • Brother Larry Schatz, FSC
  • Joshua Shipley (’01)
  • Bemetra Simmons (’97)
  • Christopher Singer ('83)
  • Dr. John Smarrelli Jr.
  • Stephen L. Waechter (’71)
  • Greg Wanta
  • Laurel C. Williams, JD (’82)

Board Member Materials